top of page

The Man Who Puts On a Makeup Is Not a Man?



Welcome to the era of grooming where even men put on a makeup. It’s quite common in Korea that has spurred such a worldwide beauty phenomenon. In Korea, there is a different attitude amongst men towards skincare and make-up that they’re not afraid to express themselves as long as they look and feel good, especially the younger generation.


However, it isn’t a very conventional stuff to embrace with for the general population in the West yet as people often have the stereotype. This might be one of the reason Chanel’s has recently chosen to debut the product of a make-up line targeted at men in Korea rather than France. I personally believe that the general perception towards skincare and make-up for men has to change. It is simply one of the means to become a well-groomed individual.



Is it only women who has a desire to cultivate appearance? It is an undeniable fact that men also express this desire confidently nowadays. Not only hairstyle, body care, or skincare, but there is also a growing interest in makeup. However, a lot of people still put a question mark for the man who is putting on a make-up. But, you need to understand that the make-up for men is not as strong or obvious as women’s. it might be just a simple bb cream to cover the pores on the face or lip tint that makes your lips look alive. So why do actually men make up?



One of the famous men beauty blogger says “At first, I started to cover the skin that does not look good and healthy”. “Although I was thinking about going to dermatology, it was not economically viable. What I could easily do was just makeup”. I think there is a negative impression about men putting on a make-up. I would like to share my story on this as I’m also doing a basic make-up for man (bb-cream only though). Why a man does something like that? This was the major reaction of my friends towards me.


However, when I meet my friends, one of them will certainly ask me “what did you put on your face today?”. They want to know. I believe that although many men are not able to express it directly, they, in fact, have the desire to decorate oneself and the desire of grooming. After starting to take care of my skin via the use of make-up, the reaction of people around me has changed much more favourable than before. One of my friend started with the face care and the range extends to the body care, hair care, and to oral cosmetic later. He said that his appearance became looking clean and tidy that he became confident and more active in social life.



My suggestion to cut the starting line is the being with the skin tone correction which is the easiest. I basically recommend a foundation rather than a BB cream. Because it’s much more natural and fit well with the skin tone. The most important thing in the foundation is the colour selection. If you feel overwhelmed to put directly on your face in the cosmetics shop, just try on the chin line that connect your face and neck. When the color connection between your face and neck looks natural, that’s the foundation you should look for. If the face makeup is too overwhelming for you.


Try eyebrow makeup first. Your face often makes the first impression and the shape of your eyebrow can have a huge impact on it. Now, even there is an eye-brow tattoo that last for a year to 2 year and that makes your eyebrow darker and seen better.



I think there are a lot of people who think that having the skincare is not for a man and end up not trying at all. It is just self-managing and nurturing yourself. It is a way of showing that you do care about yourself. It is always difficult to start.


However, I’m pretty sure that you will be surprised by the change in yourself and will be surprised again by the positive impression you will be getting from other people. People are reluctant to it because they think it’s not manly. But I think it’s more mainly for a man who knows how to manage and take care of his looks.

4 views0 comments
bottom of page